Tuesday, December 18, 2007

The NCC are Pushing it now

The Nadoes Cricket Club had their final fixture of the season on Saturday. This came in the form of a 1day game against Primrose.

The Ruth won the toss and chose to bat. The batting was opened by probably the two least in form batsmen, The Great Dane and Murray King. Things started well enough, 20/0 after 5 overs. Then Murray King tickled one to 2nd slip and was caught for 11, 20/1. Then the youngster Nick Zaaiman came in and looked uneasy, being dropped a few times. The bowling was good and the two batsmen went at a snails pace.

But the new ball was finally seen off without further wickets falling and after 20 overs the score was 65/1. Then the batters let loose and smashed the spinners to all parts of the ground. Nick Zaaiman was the caught behind for a well fought 31. Then the Guru came to the crease and took control from ball 1. In all the comotion, the Great Dane managed to bring up his maiden Nadoes 50, after being dropped on 49. He was caught on the boundary soon after for a well played 61.

Then the Guru and Ruth Smashed the ball around a bit and took the NCC to a very respectable total of 211/5 in their allotted 45 overs.

It was then the turn of the visitors, and with the Rocket Man in such devastating form it was not long before the wickets were tumbling. He was ably asisted by Vuni-barker and the Main Cheese who all picked up sticks. In the end they were rolled for 126 completing a resounding victory.

A stady fines evening followed that saw many of the younger Nadoes getting well smashed and the whole team ending up in Tiger. Well played to all and what a day!!

The awards were as follows:

The TFC: Murray King 11 and didn't field.
Paul Harris Bowling Award: Richard Barker 9-39-3
Andrew Puttick Batting Award: Dayne Allenbrook 61
Statue of Ruthity MOM: Chris Florence

Leading Runscorers: runs (average)

1) Robbie Morris 236 (39.33)
2) Warren Butler 140 (23.33)
3) Kenny Kirkby 125 (25)
4) Dayne Allenbrook 123 (13.67)

Leading Bowlers: Wickets (average)
1) Jarred De Villiers 21 (11.57)
2) Jono Meintjies 18 (8.11)
3) Eli, Taufeer 13 (14.92)
4) Dayne Allenbrook 12 (10.83)

Commendable performances:
Jono Meintjies 9-16-6 (Avendale)
Nic Zaaiman 65 (Green Point)
Robbie Morris 57 (St Augustines)
Devon Light 52 (St Augustines)
Ian Combrink 91 (Bonteheuvel)
Robbie Morris 51* (Primrose)
Miles Abrahams 59 (Primrose)
Dayne Allenbrook 61 (Primrose)
Chris Florence 51 (Primrose)

No comments: